2022 Award Recipients Announced at Annual Meeting

During the council annual meeting on February 28, PPC’s 2022 award recipients were announced. Congratulations to the following individuals for their dedication to Scouting.

The Silver Beaver Award

The Silver Beaver Award is given for noteworthy service of exceptional character to youth by registered Scouters within the territory under the jurisdiction of the Patriots’ Path Council. It is the highest award a council can bestow upon an adult volunteer. The 2022 recipients are:

  • Frank Caccavale, Denville
  • Douglas Dzwonczyk, Somerville
  • Robert A. Fromtling, Sr., Westfield
  • William “Bill” Stroh, Flanders
  • Robert Reidmiller, Newton
  • David Robbins, Bridgewater
  • Tim Sugrue, Chatham

The Trailblazer Award

The Trailblazer Award is presented to Scouters who have achieved significant accomplishments on a council level over a 24-month period. The 2022 recipients are:

  • John Koneski, Cranford
  • Emil Rufolo, Summit
  • Adam Sonzogni, Lake Hiawatha

Eagle Scout Hall of Fame

This recognition is presented to Eagle Scouts who, after 25 years since earning the rank, have distinguished themselves in their life-work and who have shared their time and talents as volunteers with their communities. The 2022 inductees are:

  • Jim Agar – Eagle Scout Class of 1986
  • Joe Allegra – Eagle Scout Class of 1978
  • Tom Curnin – Eagle Scout Class of 1977
  • Robert Corcoran – Eagle Scout Class of 1969
  • Jeff Vohden – Eagle Scout Class of 1968

Youth Leadership Award

Patriots’ Path Council Youth Leadership Award is presented to youth members who have achieved excellence in scholastics, shown outstanding involvement in the community, and demonstrated exceptional dedication and outstanding leadership qualities in the council. The 2022 recipients are:

  • Kevin Soutar
  • Connor Neuhaus
  • Katelin Hanifan
  • Joshua Danus
  • Michael Minenna

Council Alumnus of the Year Award

The BSA’s Alumnus of the Year award is the Scouting Alumni Association’s highest council recognition and can be presented to only one recipient annually. The 2022 recipient is Mark Tallmadge, PPC’s immediate past council president. The award was established to recognize alumni of the Boy Scouts of America who, over a sustained period of time, have used the skills and values they learned through their association with Scouting to make significant and long-lasting contributions to their local communities through their careers, avocations, and Scouting.

Congratulations to all these outstanding youth and adult volunteers. The ceremony for the Eagle Hall of Fame inductees and the Class of 2021 Eagle Scouts will be held on May 12 at the Olde Mill Inn.  All the other awards will be presented at the council awards celebration that will be held on May 14 at Winnebago Scout Reservation. Details about these events will be available soon, so please save the date to come and honor these deserving recipients.