Flintlocks Review Year, Elect New Officers

The Flintlocks held their annual meeting on Thursday, February 6, 2020, and President John Koneski presented the “Flintlocks 2019 Year in Review.”

Treasurer Jack Trainor balances the books.

Last year the group completed 13 major projects at Camp Winnebago; 14 more major projects at Mt. Allamuchy Scout Reservation, including obtaining a grant and building the STEM lab trailer; sent a team to Sabattis for a work week and completed 3 projects there; completed projects to help the summer day camps and Scout shops; and made 780 Pinewood Derby cars for special needs children. The Flintlocks volunteered 5,616 hours, representing 936 man-days of work in 2019.

In addition to building and maintaining the camps, the Flintlocks volunteered in many council programs including Nobel Cause, University of Scouting, Electives Extravaganza, Cubelos (both spring and fall), Grandparent and Cub Day, Cub Wood Tools Day, LEDR Day and Toys for Tots toy collections.

Awards included the following: Silver Beavers were presented to John Trainer III, Joseph Schott and John Koneski, and in 2020, Frank Wallace. More than half of the Flintlocks have Silver Beaver Awards. Trailblazer Awards were presented to Bob Germinder in 2019 and Michael Hart in 2020. John Kazazis and Michael Hart each received their veterans awards for 10 and 20 years respectively.

The following Flintlocks were elected to office for the coming year: John Koneski for president; George Van Dyke for vice president; Jack Trainor for treasurer; and Dr. D. Michael Hart for secretary. Trustees elected were Frank Wallace, Bob Pysher, Ted Marquardt and Bob Germinder.

The Flintlocks are a 501c3 and are dedicated to helping the Patriot’s Path Council, but they also like to have fun. Currently they have 27 retired Scouters. They meet every Thursday at Camp Winnebago, in the first building on the right. Guests are always welcome. The Flintlocks are currently shut down for the current coronavirus emergency; watch the Facebook Page “Flintlocks” to see when they open again.

Pictured from left in the front row are President John Koneski, Secretary Dr. D. Michael Hart and Vice President George Van Dyke. Pictured from left in the back row are trustees Ted Marquardt, Bob Pysher Frank Wallace and Bob Germinder. Not pictured is Treasurer Jack Trainor.

Pictured from left in the front row are Jeff Huppert, Randy Johnson, John Koneski, Joe Schott and Bob Carlson.
Pictured from left in the back row are Bill Debiec, Frank Wallace, Bob Pysher, Chuck Hoeckele, Ted Marquardt, Jim Van Haasteren, Bob Germinder, John Kazazis, George Van Dyke, Chris Kennett, Bob Silbernagel and Peter Aivars.